Bob Marley's Legendary Acoustic Medley, Sweden 1971 | MIDNIGHT RAVER
Home » 1970s » 1971 » Bob Marley’s Legendary Acoustic Medley, Sweden 1971

Bob Marley’s Legendary Acoustic Medley, Sweden 1971

I was recently asked by one of my readers whether I have ever heard Bob Marley’s “Acoustic Medley,” which was published as a track on the Limited Edition Songs of Freedom 4-disc box set, and later in additional box sets.  Well, since I am lucky enough to own one of the original collector’s sets (#0320187 for all you collectors), I pulled the track, converted to WAV audio, and I share it here for your listening pleasure.

It is by far one of Marley’s most impressive performances as it is just him, a guitar, and the words he wrote.  It doesn’t get more raw than this.  The vocal performance is simply stunning.

The seven-song medley was recorded in Sweden during the summer of 1971, when Bob was staying in Alvik and working on a film soundtrack with Johnny Nash.  The film, So Much To Believe, was supported by John Bundrick, Johnny Nash, Bob Marley, and Fred Jordan.  The film premiered at the 1971 Festival Stockholm.  It is actually a recording of Bob teaching Nash some songs, including “Stir It Up”, which later becomes a huge hit for Nash.

The song sequence is:

1. Guava Jelly
2. This Train

3. Cornerstone
4. Comma Comma
5. Dewdrops
6. Stir It Up
7. I’m Hurting Inside

Bob Marley w/ Johnny Nash 1971

Movie Poster

I must give thanks to my good friend Fred from France who provided crucial information about this track and about Bob’s stay in Alvik 1971.  Please visit his website at

Copyright Disclaimer Under Section 107 of the Copyright Act 1976, allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, and research. Fair use is a use permitted by copyright statute that might otherwise be infringing. Non-profit, educational or personal use tips the balance in favor of fair use.




  1. there is also a collectors circulated version that includes Cry To Me, don’t know why they left it off the box set 0422852 here.

    1. marleyrkives says:

      I better tell Fred about that.

      1. pretty sure its the same thing just an early collectors tape version, surprised when I looked at the songs of freedome it missed that song. I don’t think it is a different session? Tape says Sweden 1971

  2. steve says:

    Cry To Me is on the officially released box sets, The Complete Bob Marley & the Wailers and Grooving Kingston 12
    This material is officially released and making it available in lossless download it is doubtful whether a fair use policy would stop you from receiving a DMCA take down notice, if it was available to listen to, only then would your fair use disclaimer be of significance.

    1. marleyrkives says:

      Downloads are now disabled. Thanks for stopping by and thanks for the info.

  3. Thank you for sharing valuable information. Nice post. I enjoyed reading this post. The whole blog is very nice found some good stuff and good information here Thanks..Also visit my page welding oswestry

  4. Beckford says:

    This is the house outside of Stockholm in which Bob lived and recorded the acoustic segment:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


ThumbSniper-Plugin by Thomas Schulte