Niney The Observer Live at the Turntable Club | MIDNIGHT RAVER
Home » 1970s » 1974 » Niney The Observer Live at the Turntable Club

Niney The Observer Live at the Turntable Club

This historical release is produced by Niney The Observer, mixed by King Tubby, Errol & Dennis Thompson and features vocals from Dennis Brown, Delroy Wilson and Big Youth.

On Jan 24, 2012, 17 North Parade released Live At The Turntable Club for the first time on CD. The original 1974 release, presented and produced by Niney The Observer, was the first live album recorded in Jamaica that gave the rest of the world aural access to Kingston’s lively music scene during a definitive era in reggae.

With electrifying live performances from Dennis Brown, Delroy Wilson, Big Youth and backing band Soul Syndicate, Live At The Turntable Club is a vibrant snap shot of the key players who paved the way for the roots genre. Reggae’s most accomplished recording engineers – King Tubby, Errol Thompson and Dennis Thompson – along with Niney and these legendary artists were at the peak of their musical careers when they captured these live recordings inside Kingston’s famous nightclub. The songs were mixed by King Tubby at his renowned studio on Dromilly Avenue and mastered in London at The Beatles’ Apple Studio on Saville Row.

[vodpod id=Video.16500045&w=425&h=350&fv=]

1 Dennis Brown Cassandra
2 Dennis Brown Rock With Me Baby
3 Dennis Brown Give A Helping Hand
4 Alexander Portious Everything I Own
5 Alexander Portious Love Overdue
6 Delroy Wilson I’m A Happy Man (Without You In My Life)
7 Delroy Wilson It’s A Shame
8 Delroy Wilson Have Some Mercy
9 Delroy Wilson You Keep On Running
10 Big Youth Santa Massa Gone Ya (I Pray Thee)
11 Big Youth Dread In A Babylon



Dennis Brown


Delroy Wilson


Big Youth




  1. Clyde W. Phillips Jr. says:

    Thanks, you don’t hear enough about Niney.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


ThumbSniper-Plugin by Thomas Schulte